Craig Prater, Chief Technology Officer

Santa Barbara, California – Photothermal Spectroscopy Corp. announces that its Chief Technical Officer, Dr Craig Prater has won the 2023 Coblentz Society Williams-Wright Award which is presented annually to an industrial spectroscopist who has made significant contributions to vibrational spectroscopy while working in industry.

Dr. Craig Prater has been a visionary leader in the development and commercialization of novel scientific measurement techniques for over 30 years. He has a PhD in Physics at the University of California Santa Barbara, and Craig has co-authored 140 scientific and trade publications and patents with over 9200 citations in the fields of scanning probe microscopy, nanoscale infrared spectroscopy, nanoscale materials characterization, and photothermal microscopy.

Craig spent 15 years at Bruker (Veeco) in various roles in R&D and leadership, culminating as Chief Technologist, and was heavily involved in the development and commercialization of many AFM technologies and instruments that are now in widespread use in academic and industrial research and have been used in hundreds of thousands of scientific publications.

Craig joined Anasys Instruments in 2007 and with his research collaborators pioneered the commercialization of atomic force microscope based infrared spectroscopy (AFM-IR), a tool that for the first time provided broadly applicable chemical analysis and topographic imaging with nanoscale spatial resolution. The high growth of Anasys lead to its acquisition by Bruker in April 2018.
Craig, and the previous Anasys leadership team of Kevin Kjoller and Roshan Shetty, formed a new company called Photothermal Spectroscopy Corp to develop and commercialize Optical Photothermal Infrared (O-PTIR) spectroscopy.

The O-PTIR approach achieves significant performance benefits over conventional IR spectroscopy including >10X better spatial resolution, operation in both transmission and reflection modes without scattering artifacts, and operation in a non-contact mode. This technology is now used internationally at many top university and government research laboratories and industrial facilities, including several Fortune 500 companies.

The award will be officially conferred during the Williams-Wright Award Symposium at Pittcon, which will be held March 18-22, 2023, Pennsylvania Convention Center, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA.
The 2023 Award Symposium will feature an award address by Craig and talks from his invited speakers.

The location of the symposium will be room number 124,
Monday March 20th , 8.30am to 11:50am.

The invited speakers are:
Dr Andrea Centrone – Project Leader at NIST
Dr Ferenc Borondics – Principal Beamline Scientist, SMIS beamline, SOLEIL Synchrotron
Rohit Reddy – Professor/cancer researcher at University of Houston
Roy Goodacre – Professor of Biological Chemistry at University of Liverpool

Further Information can Be found here:
Williams-Wright Award – Spectroscopy | Coblentz Society

Details of the Award Symposium can be found here:

About Photothermal Spectroscopy Corp

Photothermal Spectroscopy Corp (PSC), the sub-micron spectroscopy company, has pioneered the breakthrough technique of optical Photothermal Infrared (O-PTIR) technology that eliminates key limitations of traditional IR Spectroscopy providing submicron spatial resolution for IR and transmission-like FTIR quality spectra in non-contact reflection mode. More recently, PSC has developed the world’s first simultaneous Infrared and Raman microscope and imaging system, providing IR and Raman data from the exact same spot, at the same time, with the same submicron spatial resolution. PSC’s vision is to enable the power of IR spectroscopy to be applied to high value problems in industry and academia via the adoption of O-PTIR.

Media Contact: Dean Dawson, V.P. Marketing and Business Development Photothermal Spectroscopy Corp T: +1 (805) 845-6568 x525